People

Members and associated members of ENGOV

The members of Engov are employed at Noragric or are associate members related to our collaborations. Pål Vedeld is the leader of Engov from autumn 2011 to autumn 2013.

Noragric staff
UMB
Noragric PhD candidates
NINA
Makerere University
Sokoine University of Agriculture
University of Dar-el-Salaam
.
Noragric:

Pål Vedeld Professor
Pål Vedeld, Professor in Environment and Development Studies (CV)

Paul is an institutional economist within agriculture, resource and development studies. He holds a master degree in Natural Resource Management and a PhD. in Resource, Agriculture and Development Economics from UMB. Apart from working at UMB, he has been a Norwegian farm hand, a development worker in India and an advisor in the Norwegian parliament. He has been a local politician for 20 years. His main fields of interest are governance and policy analysis, biodiversity and climate change, livelihood and poverty studies, general development studies and theoretical issues around interdisciplinarity.

Contact: pal.vedeld@nmbu.no
Tor Arve Benjaminsen
Tor Arve Benjaminsen, Professor in Development Studies (CV)

Tor is a human geographer and political ecologist. He holds a cand. scient. in Environmental Geography (Univ. Of Oslo) and a PhD in International Development Studies (Roskilde Univ.). Most of his work has been on African drylands (Mali, South Africa, Tanzania) where he has focused on land tenure, conflicts, and environmental change and policies.

Contact: t.a.benjaminsen@nmbu.no
Arild Vatn, Thor Heyerdahl
Arild Vatn, Thor Heyerdahl Professor in Environmental Sciences (CV)

The work of Arild Vatn can be divided in two. First, he works on the general theory of environmental governance focusing especially on institutions, institutional change and legitimacy. Second, he does empirical work in relation to climate change and biodiversity protection. Core areas here is research on REDD+ (reduced emissions from deforestation and forest degradation) and the use of markets to protect biodiversity.

Contact: Arild.vatn@nmbu.no
Siri Eriksen
Siri Eriksen, Acossiate Professor (CV)

Siri Eriksen holds a PhD in Environmental Sciences from University of East Anglia, UK (2000). Siri is currently an Associate Professor at the Norwegian University of Life Sciences. Her main research interests focus on human vulnerability to environmental change, in particular climatic variability and extremes such as droughts and floods. Current research projects include investigating adaptation to climate change in Norway, the interaction between conflicts and vulnerability to climate stress in Kenya, economic change and coping strategies with climatic variability in Mozambique, and investigating linkages between development, poverty and climate change adaptation.

Contact: Siri.eriksen@nmbu.no

Andrei Florin Marin

Andrei Florin Marin, Researcher (CV)

Andrei is a human geographer with a PhD from the University of Bergen, and a MSc. (Natural resources management and sustainable agriculture) from Noragric. His research focuses on integrating climate change adaptation/vulnerability in socio-ecological systems with sustainable development. With projects in Mongolia, Finnmark (Norway) and Ethiopia.

Contact: andrei.marin@nmbu.no
Dr. Charlotte Nakakaawa
Dr. Charlotte Nakakaawa, Postdoctoral Fellow (CV)
Dissertation tiltle: Potentials, Policies, and Projects on carbon sequestration at national, local and household levels in Uganda

Contact: charlotte.nakakaawa@nmbu.no
lyla-mehta
Lyla Mehta, Professor II (CV)

Lyla Mehta trained as a sociologist (University of Vienna) and has a Ph.d. in Development Studies (University of Sussex). Her work focuses on water and sanitation, forced displacement and resistance, scarcity, rights and access and the cultural politics of the environment, development and sustainability. She has done extensive field research in rural India studying the politics of water scarcity and the linkages between gender, displacement and resistance. Additionally, she has worked on the right to water in South Africa and studied the cultural and institutional aspects of sanitation in Ethiopia, Bangladesh, India and Indonesia. Her current work addresses the flows and practices of Integrated Water Resources Management (IWRM) across Europe and Eastern and Southern Africa, the social and cultural aspects of waste management and uncertainty from above and below. Lyla is a Research Fellow at the Institute of Development Studies at the University of Sussex, UK where she convenes work on water and sanitation. She also works as an Adjunct Professor at Noragric.

Contact: lyla.mehta@nmbu.no and L.Mehta@ids.ac.uk
Ingrid Nyborg
Ingrid Nyborg, Associate Professor (CV)

Ingrid is a social scientist with her first degree in International Relations, her MSc in International Agricultural Development (both from Univ. of California, Davis) and her PhD in Development Studies (Noragric, UMB). She has worked in both Africa and South Asia, mainly on social and institutional aspects of agriculture, resource management (forestry) and technology development (agriculture, rural energy and ecological sanitation), as well gendered power relations and development assistance policy. She is currently working on human security aspects of post-conflict development in Pakistan and Afghanistan, as well as humanitarian policy and local adaptation to climate change in post-disaster Pakistan.

Contact: ingrid.nyborg@nmbu.no
Bill Derman
Bill Derman, Professor of Anthropology (CV)

Bill Derman is an anthropologist with long standing interests in social change, rural development, water reform, river basin development, political ecology and human rights. Most of his field research has been conducted in west and southern Africa.

Contact: bill.derman@nmbu.no
Bishal Sitaula
Bishal Sitaula, Professor (CV)
Contact: bishal.sitaula@nmbu.no
Ian Bryceson Ian Bryceson, Professor (CV)
Contact: ian.bryceson@nmbu.no
Espen Sjaastad
Espen Sjaastad, Professor in Environment and Development Studies (CV)

Espen’s main research interests are: Land tenure evolution, land rights formalisation, rural livelihoods, rural exchange systems, poverty measurement

Contact: espen.sjaastad@nmbu.no
N. Shanmugaratnam
N. Shanmugaratnam, Professor in Development Studies (CV)

Nadarajah Shanmugaratnam is Professor (Emeritus) in Development Studies
at the Department of International Environment and Development Studies at UMB. His professional interests include political economy of environment and
development, institutional economics, policy and institutional aspects
of rural development, conflict, peace and development issues including
reconstruction of war affected areas.

Contact: n.shanmugaratnam@nmbu.no
Frode Sundnes
Frode Sundnes, University lecturer (CV)

Contact: frode.sundnes(at)nmbu.no

Knut Nustad Knut Nustad, Associate Professor (CV)
Contact: knut.nustad@nmbu.no, kn@nupi.no
Thor Larsen
Thor Larsen, Researcher (CV)

Thor’s research interests include: Ecological research, wildlife population dynamics and management, management of protected areas and buffer zones, ecosystem based management, co-management and community based natural resource management, environmental impact assessment. I have work experience from Europe, Russia, Africa, Asia, North and Central America, and the Arctic.

Contact: thor.s.larsen@nmbu.no

Darley Kjosavik
Darley Kjosavik, Associate Professor (CV)

Darley Jose Kjosavik is Associate Professor at the Department of International Environment and Development Studies at UMB. She has an interdisciplinary academic background and her research interests include political economy of development with special reference to marginalised social groups, gender and development, conflict and development, political economy of environment and development, climate change and development.

Contact: darley.kjosavik@nmbu.no
Gry Synnevåg Gry Synnevåg, Head of Noragric (CV)
Contact: gry.synnevag@nmbu.no

PhD candidates at Noragric:

Hans Nicolai Adam
Hans Nicolai Adam, PhD candidate in Environment and Development Studies
Research topic: Public Works Programmes: Prospects for climate change mitigation adaptation in combination with sustainable development. A case study of the MGNREGA (Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee Act).

Contact: hans.adam@nmbu.no
Grete Benjaminsen
Grete Benjaminsen, PhD candidate in Environment and Development Studies
Research topic: Implementing REDD in Zanzibari forests: An investigation of process, actors and discourses.

Contact: grete.benjaminsen@nmbu.no
Lydia Gaspare

Lydia Gaspare, PhD candidate in Development studies
Research topic: The effects of increased fishing pressure on the ecological resilience of targeted groupers (Serranidae) and analysis of impacts on livelihoods in fishing communities of Mafia Island, Tanzania.

Contact: lydia.gaspare@nmbu.no

Connor Cavanagh PhD candidate in Environment and Development Studies
Research topic: Revaluing the Kenyan Landscape? Quantification, Certification, and Resistance in the World Bank’s Kenya Agricultural Carbon Project

Contact: connor.cavanagh@nmbu.no
Marit Heller
Marit Heller, PhD candidate in Environment and Development Studies
Research topic: Environmental policy and human action

Contact: marit.heller@nmbu.no
Cecilie Hirsch
Cecilie Hirsch, PhD candidate in Environment and Development Studies
Research topic: Participation, sovereignties and the politics of environmental governance: A study of efforts to protect forests and the implementation of UN-REDD in Bolivia

Contact: cecilie.hirsch@nmbu.no

Kathrine Ivsett Johnsen, PhD candidate in Environment and Development Studies
Research topic: Land-use conflicts in Finnmark: Obstacles and opportunities for sustainable pasture management

Contact: kathrine.ivsett.johnsen@nmbu.no

Marianne Karlsson, PhD candidate in Environment and Development Studies
Research topic: The effects of climatic and other forces of change on livelihoods in coastal communities of Belize, Central America.

Contact: Marianne.karlsson@nmbu.no

Sayuni Mariki
Sayuni Mariki PhD candidate in Development studies
Research topic: Participatory aspects of Enduimet Wildlife Management Area and Kilimanjaro National Park in villages on the western slopes of Mount Kilimanjaro, Tanzania

Contact: sayuni.mariki@nmbu.no
Victoria Moshy
Victoria Moshy, PhD candidate in Development studies
Research topic: Socio-ecological Changes in the Livelihoods of Fishing Communities in the Current Epoch of Globalisation: A Case of Mafia Island, Tanzania.

Contact: victoria.moshy@nmbu.no
Joseph Perfect Mrema

Joseph Perfect Mrema, PhD candidate in Development studies
Research topic: Opportunities and challenges of linking forest conservation and livelihoods in community based forest management: The case of Duru- Haitemba Forest Reserve.

Contact: joseph.mrema@nmbu.no

Mary Nantongo, PhD candidate in Environment and Development Studies

Research topic: A comparative analysis of livelihood and behavioral impacts of REDD+. Findings from pilot projects in Brazil, Tanzania and Uganda.

Contact: Mary.nantongo@nmbu.no

Raymond Achu Samndong, PhD candidate in Development studies

Research topic: Governing REDD+: The potential for reduced forest carbon emission, biodiversity protection and enhanced rural livelihoods in the Congo Basin Forest.

Contact: raymond.samndong@nmbu.no

Kjersti Thorkildsen

Kjersti Thorkildsen, PhD candidate in Development studies (CV)
Research topic: Between conservation and development: Traditional communities’ struggle for access to natural resources in the Ribeira Valley, Brazil

Contact: kjersti.thorkildsen@nmbu.no

Leif Tore Trædal, PhD candidate in Environment and Development Studies

Research topic: How not to cut down a tree? Understanding forest cover change in the context of Vietnam: theories, policies, and practice.

Contact: leif.tore.treadal@nmbu.no

Jennifer Joy West
Jennifer Joy West, PhD candidate in Environment and Development studies
Research topic: Climate change and agricultural development in Tanzania: actors, strategies, and discourses

Contact: jennifer.west@nmbu.no and j.j.west@cicero.uio.no
Mariannae Aasen
Mariannae Aasen, PhD candidate in Environment and Development studies
Research topic: Can a combination of policy instruments increase the effeciveness and public acceptability of environmental policies?

Contact: marianne.aasen@nmbu.no

UMB:

Stein R. Moe
Stein R. Moe, Professor (CV)

Stein is an Ecologist with particular interests in Plant Animal Interactions, Spatial and Temporal Ecosystem Dynamics, Natural Resource Management, Tropical Ecology, Wildlife Ecology, Rangeland Management, Human Wildlife Relations, Conservation.

Contact: stein.moe@nmbu.no
Other PhD candidates:

Macrice Andrew Samora, PhD candidate at the departmetn of Ecology and Natural Resource Management (INA) at UMB.

Researc topic: The Influence of Plant Functional Types on Vegetation Dynamics and Ecosystem Functioning of Kilombero Wetland and local people’s adapations , Tanzania

Contact: samora.andrew@nmbu.no

Norwegian Institute for Nature Research (NINA):

Dr. Hanne Svarstad
Dr. Hanne Svarstad, Norwegian Institute for Nature Research

Contact: hanne.svarstad@nina.no
www.hannesvarstad.com

Makerere University:

David Tumusiime

David Tumusiime, PhD in Environment and Development studies
Research topic:The political ecology of conservation of the mountain Gorilla at Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda.

Contact:

Dr. Gorettie Nabanoga

Sokoine University of Agriculture:

Dr. Jumanne Moshi Abdallah Dr. Jumanne Moshi Abdallah
Sokoine University of Agriculture (SUA)
University of Dar es Salaam:

Dr. Faustin Maganga
Dr. Faustin Maganga(CV)

Institute of Resource Assessment (IRA), University of Dar es Salaam
.